What I Always Pack With Me When I Travel 我的出行必备品

I have escaped the Shanghai humidity for some blue sky and sunshine. This is something I intentionally built into my life every year and I love it. My time away, does not mean that I toss my “holistic lifestyle” out the window, I take a little bit of home with me by packing my favourite healthy travel essentials. No matter where I go, these things come along for the ride. The majority of travel, whether it be for one week or six months, I strive to travel carry on. Yes, all of the below healthy travel essentials will easily fit into my carry-on 🙂

每年,我都会刻意躲开夏日上海的天空、阳光和闷热,给自己放个假。离开了家,并不意味着我就彻底离开了我钟爱的“整体生活方式”,在整理行囊时,我会将几样心爱的关键元素放进行李箱,它们陪着我走过了千山万水。无论走到哪儿,旅程有多久一周还是半年,我都会带上它们。下面就让我们看看它们都有哪些吧~

IMG_3675
First morning I awake to a curtainful of sun in Pairs.

1. Essential Oils 精油

I was once asked what one thing I would take to a desert island. I was totally mocked for saying essential oils. But it’s true. There are 2 that I don’t leave home without: Tea Tree and Lavender. Okay, I know these are technically 2 things but I’m lumping them into one (plus, they’re pretty small).

有人曾问我,如果你这次的目的地是一座荒岛,什么东西你觉得是必不可少的?我自嘲道:“精油”。说真的,我确实这么认为。我随身都会带上两样东西:茶树精油和薰衣草精油,出门前将它们二合为一,小小的一瓶又不占地。

  • Lavender essential oil: one of my favourite scents of all time, helps to calm my nerves and soothes any muscle aches and tension. Plus, since it smells so lovely, it’s a great one to dab just under my nostrils when I’ve been on an airplane for five hours and things are getting a little stinky.
  • 薰衣草精油:一直以来,我最喜欢的芬芳精油。它有助于镇定神经,起到缓解肌肉酸痛和紧张的作用。由于它的宜人芳香,当我在飞机上坐了5个小时后,感觉空气难闻时,我就会在鼻孔下轻拍几下。
  • Tea tree oil: is a fantastic antiseptic and it also has amazing anti-viral, anti-bacterial and anti-fungal functions. It also doubles as a quick and easy cleaner when mixed with water, in case all that’s available are toxic home cleaning products.
  • 茶树精油:一种神奇的抗菌剂,具有惊人的抗病毒、抗致病菌和抗真菌的功能。它与水混合,可以生成一种快速有效且简单的清洁剂,取代现有的有毒家用清洁剂。

Everyone has their essential oil favourites, but whatever scents you choose ensure your essential oils are good quality.

精油种类千千万万,但无论选用哪一款,都必须确保它的质量。

2. Sleep Mask + Ear Plugs 眼罩和耳塞

A good night’s sleep is elusive to some people on a regular basis, but travel challenge me more with switching time zones, new beds, figure out in a new kitchen (just me:) maybe the excitement and adrenaline, or perhaps just the general travel chaos. These two things create a mini silent chamber no matter where I am, whether I’m on a plane or in a busy city.

睡眠对于作息规律的人而言,可能是最普通不过的事了。但对于总在旅途中的我来说,却可能是一种不可避免的挑战。从一个时区到另一个时区,从一张床换到另一张床,穿梭于各种厨房(这个可能只有我在乎),由于对新环境的新奇和紧张,都会引起旅途困倦。眼罩和耳塞这两样东西,无论我身处何地都会让我暂时忘却周遭,还我一个宁静的睡眠空间。

Also, dabbing a bit of lavender onto my sleep mask also helps lull me into a calm, relaxing state.

当然,如果能滴上几滴薰衣草精油,就能让我更快地放松入眠。

3. Small Hand-Soap 迷你手工皂

I like having my own soap so I can wash with confidence. I carry a small bottle of Dr. Bronner’s with me which makes it easy for me to thoroughly wash my hands in airports, on planes and in the new apartments without having to worry about those heavily fragranced soaps. Most rentals don’t use eco-friendly beauty care options and so to keep clean, I bring my own.

解决个人卫生,我喜欢用自制的肥皂。每次出行我都会随身带一瓶Bronner博士,它让我避免了在机场、飞机、新公寓中使用那些含有浓郁香味的香皂洗手。这些公众场所一般都不会选用环保的护理产品,所以为了保持个人清洁,我只用自己带的个护产品。

4. Coconut Oil 椰子油

Oh yes, what an amazing thing! I oil pulling with it every morning, and use it as body lotion, sun screen, of course, I can use it in my cooking too !

椰子油的神奇之处在于,它不仅用于油拔、身体滋润、防晒,还可以让我在烹饪中一展手脚!

5. Salt Inhaler 喜马拉雅盐呼吸器

A salt inhaler, is a ceramic container that is filled with Himalayan salt and you inhale through the mouth piece at the top. You’ll get loads of strange looks but whatever, it’s awesome. The salt works to purify the air as you breathe in which really helps me on long plane journeys. I also enjoy it when I just wake up in the morning or do my morning meditations, it makes my mind refresh. I am not a doctor so I can’t tell you to try this, but there is loads of anecdotal evidence that has shown the salt pipe combined with a frankincense to be helpful.

这是一台盛满了喜马拉雅盐的陶瓷容器,通过顶部的出气孔喷出雾气。它的外观各式各样,而且功效显著。它可以净化空气,让我的长途飞行不再痛苦。清晨,当我起床做冥想时,我喜欢点上它来净化心灵。尽管我不是医生,但我的亲身体验告诉我,将它与乳香结合,搭配使用对健康十分有益。

6. Turmeric Powder 姜黄粉

Travel exposes us to new foods, new water, and infections we’re not accustomed to dealing with at home. Bringing turmeric powder allow me easily make myself a golden milk whenever my body need it, it helps to boost my immunity.

旅行不但让我接触到了新的饮食,也让我接触了平时在家中不可能沾染上的病菌。用姜黄粉为自己冲一杯“黄金奶”,为身体补充必须的免疫力。

7. Crystals 水晶

I know this is a weird one, but I always bring a small assortment of crystals. I keep them in my crocheted pouch on my travel days and arrange them beside my bed. I somehow feel like they bring a little home energy with me. If you know anything about crystals please comment.

尽管这么说有点儿“悬”,但我常在身边带一小块水晶,将它存在一只我亲手钩织的编织袋中放在床头。冥冥中,它给我带来家的安心。关于水晶你有什么故事?不妨也来说说。

IMG_3671

The view from where I lay on the bed. Pairs

